Coex Aquarium Field Trip

Yesterday, my school took a field trip to the Coex Aquarium in Seoul. Although I only had to keep track of the kids in my smallest kindergarten class, it was pretty difficult managing four rowdy five-year-old boys (the one girl was absent)! But I survived. I can’t tell you too much about the aquarium, as we basically RAN through it and I was so busy trying to make sure I had all my students. But I know there were lots of fish, eels, sharks, jellyfish, stingrays, crabs, and penguins. The coolest part was all the unique fish tanks… they were in a fire extinguisher, traffic light, Coke machine, payphone, etc.

lionfish

stingray

alex, paul, matthew, tony... and their smiling teacher!

creepy eel

sea turtle

tony with some jellyfish

Last weekend was pretty eventful, even though our beach/railbike trip was canceled due to the typhoon. 😦

Friday night my coworker Bobby had a party at his house. It was fun to hang out with everyone and eat yummy American food (Papa John’s pizza, mozzarella sticks, nachos)!

yummy ice cream cakes

jennifer, lois, and lucia

bobby with his dog khan

daniel and khan... ew!

me and agnes

Saturday was my low-key day, I went to see Salt (highly entertaining). Sunday I met my friend Emma for brunch (yummy chocolate chip pancakes, sausage, and home fries) and then we went to Dr. Fish! I started to back out after I read some disturbing articles online about how unhygienic it is, but I decided the chance of getting some rare foot disease was pretty slim! So… it was way weirder than I thought it would be! It seemed like those fish had giant teeth, and it kind of felt like little electric shocks! It was hard to keep my feet in the water for more than a few seconds and by the time I got used to it, we had to get out (fifteen minutes). It was an interesting experience, but not one that I’d like to repeat…

emma's expression says it all!

There was also drama last weekend about our Chuseok travel plans. Daniel’s school randomly decided to change his day off to Friday instead of Monday. Which is awesome, because now we have six days off to travel together, but we had already booked our flights separately! With the assistance of Orbitz we managed to work things out and it didn’t cost us too much. I also changed my reservation in Taipei and we will now be staying at Royal Castle Hotel.

-Jen Pace

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Coex Aquarium Field Trip

  1. Mary Baumgartner

    Hi Jen, Those four little boys admiring the aquarium are adorable, as is their teacher. Looks like you’re really having a great experience over there. I really enjoy reading and seeing your joyful adventures. Love, Grandma

  2. Pingback: Beat the winter blues: Fun in Seoul when it’s cold! | 맙소사!

Leave a Reply

