More Randomness

So, not much going on lately. I have become one of those sketchy people I loathe, someone who changes plans at the last minute. Ugh! I had good intentions to go to to the 63 Wax Museum and Oktoberfest on Saturday. Then I found out Oktoberfest was 35,000 won a person, so I bailed and babysat instead — and made twice that! So, I postponed the wax museum until Sunday, since Daniel and I were already going to be in Seoul for lunch at On the Border. But, after lunch I wanted to go shopping! I needed some new clothes for this cold weather! I will have to make it to the wax museum this month since I have free tickets that are only good in October, and we might go to Oktoberfest some other time instead… the restaurant’s 10,000 won all-you-can-drink German beer special sounds like a much better deal than the event on Saturday.

Ah, the weather… it completely changed while we were in Taiwan. Before we left, it was hot and humid, still summer. Now it is cool and crisp, fall came quickly. And there was no 70 degree weather, it went straight from 80s to 60s. So, this weekend I got two long-sleeved shirts, a sweater, a sweatshirt (Donald Duck – don’t hate), a hat, and a scarf… and some birthday presents for Daniel. Oh, and check out Daniel’s sweet Konglish sweatshirt we found this weekend…

Most exciting recent event: I won cheese! I entered a raffle and won Cheddar, Colby Jack, Brie, feta, and goat cheese. Monday night I made steak and goat cheese salad. Tonight I made pasta with tomatoes, broccoli, feta, and a lemon-mustard sauce. Mmmm…

Oh yes, other exciting news: I booked my plane tickets home for Christmas! I will be in NC from Christmas Day to New Years Day. It was ridiculously expensive, but I have the week off work anyway and I have never spent Christmas away from my family. I am already planning a “hangover” New Years Day brunch as my annual holiday party.

I recently had another post as a contributor on Adventure Teaching’s blog. Check it out here:
Dr. Fish

Oh yeah, I decided what I want to do with my life: be a librarian. Teaching is not really for me, but I think I would be *perfect* as a librarian. I am very organized, I love books and libraries, and I could still work in a school if I wanted to work with kids and have summers off. 🙂 So I plan on getting my MLIS, either with an online course next fall, or going back to “real” school in two years. I will most likely stay in Korea for another year, for money/traveling purposes, but nothing is set in stone. By the way, this revelation came about while reading The American Wife… fantastic book. Currently reading Brother One Cell. It’s okay so far. A not so great book…

Eat, Pray, Love. I hated that book. I despised the author/main character’s whiny ass. Despite my hatred for the book version, I thought Julia Roberts could pull off the movie version, so I saw it this week. While it was definitely better than the book, I was still disappointed. Damn high expectations.

Looking forward to all that October has to offer:
-Daniel’s birthday (Paintballing?)
-Our six year anniversary (Dinner at OKitchen?)
-Halloween (There will be a parade and activities at school — I have to dress up, any ideas? I want to be a flapper but don’t know if I can find the outfit here, Halloween options are limited. I’m sure there will also be a bar/club party somewhere… Daniel is going to be The Great Pimpkin!)

-Jen Pace

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “More Randomness

  1. Don

    your best blog ever!!!

    Finally something with some zing, and zest!!!

    The salads really looked yummy..!

  2. Mary Baumgartner

    Jen, I agree that this is your most interesting blog ever. Lucky you winning the cheese. Guess I’ll have to stay longer after Christmas since you’ll be here until New Year’s Day. It’s a little cooler here in Miami too. I’ve opened up all the windows. At night it gets to 73 degrees and mid 80’s in the daytime. Loved your blog. Love, Grandma

Leave a Reply

