Daniel’s 28th Birthday at Oktoberfest

Daniel’s birthday was a pretty crazy event this year. We had a total of 15 people come celebrate at Oktoberfest in Gangnam, Seoul. There was supposedly a special of ₩10,000 all-you-can-drink beer, which is why we went there, but after getting the ₩300,000 bill in Korean I am not so sure of that. I know we ordered some food but I don’t think ₩150,000 won worth! Oh well. I was too drunk to figure it out. It was fun anyway and we had some yummy beer. 🙂

Fun until we left that is… I was so tired and it was too late to take the subway home so Daniel, Emma, and I wandered around Gangnam. They were hungry and I guess at one point I slept on a table in a sushi restaurant while they ate (see below). I also tried to sleep on the street several times. We finally found a love motel, and that heated floor was a godsend for this drunk girl.

Then I spent the next few days confused about that pesky ₩300,000 bill. People had given me money and I still had all the cash in my wallet. I knew I didn’t have ₩300,000 in my bank account but Daniel was insisting that I paid with my card. I thought maybe we walked out on the bill! Turned out Daniel paid for it, although now I’m kind of wishing we had walked out since I’ll be broke for the next two weeks now!

Adding to the reason I’m broke is the massive shopping spree I was on for basically three weeks straight. But now I have so many cute winter clothes and accessories and Daniel got some very nice birthday presents so I’m happy. Here are some pics of Ohee and I shopping in Myeongdong Friday night…

Last night I made yummy tacos and cookies with Beth but forgot to take any pics! I also made feta pork burgers last week, which you can see below. Here is my recipe:

Buy ground pork instead of beef because it’s half the price. Buy bread instead of buns because they don’t sell those in the grocery store here. Combine pork with a a handful of feta, a spoonful of ketchup, a spoonful of mustard, and a dash of all the spices in your cabinet (salt, pepper, garlic powder, basil and oregano). Shape into patties and place in a baking dish. Bake at 166.7 degrees Celsius for 20 minutes in your small oven because you don’t have a grill. Flip over halfway through. Top with only ketchup and mustard because tomatoes are too expensive and dill pickles don’t exist. Enjoy!

School has been mostly good. We had the October birthday party today. Tomorrow I will be taking some of my students out to Burger King for “English lunch” (then more students over the next two Wednesdays). I have been busy with the kids making lots of Halloween crafts. We are having a huge party at school on Friday; I am in charge of the arts and crafts room.

Heading out to see Letters to Juliet now, since my house is clean and I had an early workday. Better bundle up because it is *freezing* here… winter came this week!

-Jen Pace

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Daniel’s 28th Birthday at Oktoberfest

  1. Mary Baumgartner

    Jen, it sounds like you really celebrated Dan’s birthday in “high style”. Tell him belated Happy Birthday from me. My sister Karen’s birthday was Oct. 24th. I’m looking forward to the Mystic Dunes for my birthday next week. Love, Grandma

  2. cindy daugherty

    WOW! It does sound like you really celebrated! Two more years of this crazy celebrating! HE will then be 30! Time to tame down a little…? It is not good when you do’t know whether you paid the bill! LOL Glad you are still alive! and Jen, heated floor? no wonder you were on the floor when Daniel woke up in the bed! LOL

Leave a Reply

