Six Months In & A Happy Thanksgiving

Last Wednesday was my six month “anniversary” with Korea. I landed here on May 24th. I had planned to write a special post about all the weird customs and whatnot in this country… instead I just procrastinated for a week. But, that blog will come soon after I go on a photography scavenger hunt this weekend to capture the images of “Weird Korea”. I’m stoked.

It has been a good six months. Teaching is not going perfectly but I like the country and my life here. Sure, I miss bubble baths, Barnes & Noble, my magazine subscriptions, not being stared at constantly… and it would be nice to be able to do simple things like find a particular item in the grocery store without hassle. Let’s see what does Korea have? Good public transportation, cheap batteries and medicine… hmmmmmmmmm. I thought the list was a little longer. 🙂

Moving on… last week was also Thanksgiving. It’s the first one I’ve ever spent without my family but I was okay, probably because I know I will be home in a short three and a half weeks. I worked that day obviously and didn’t do anything special but on Saturday a big group of foreigners gathered for a delicious turkey dinner. I made my Mexican dip, macaroni and cheese, and heart-shaped cookies. We had a blast.

And I have so much to be thankful for… top of the list would of course be Daniel, my family, and my friends. I am thankful to have a job and money unlike this time last year. And to quote my favorite song: It’s a great day to be alive, I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes…

Yes, I am sure you all heard about the drama last week with our friendly neighbors. All of my friends and family were very concerned (my dad called my cell phone!) but most people here seem to think it is just business as usual. So I am staying put unless there really is a war. I can’t just up and leave the life I have here as tempting as it is. And I think I would be able to evacuate if anything went down; I don’t live in Seoul so that is a major plus for me.

What else is new? Last week we had a cooking class and made kimchi and also had the November birthday party. Our December birthday party is quickly approaching and I am having so much fun practicing Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” (my fave!) with the kids. We even have a little dance going on. I dragged Daniel to the movies on Sunday (for only the second time in six months!) to see “Due Date”… which was mildly entertaining. And my second baking class was that night; I’ve been feasting on banana nut muffins and Rocky Road bars all week!

Until next time…

-Jen Pace

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Six Months In & A Happy Thanksgiving

  1. cindy

    That was a very nice blog. I am glad you are coming home, but I can’t believe you are leaving Daniel there all alone for Christmas. Even thugh I know he is probably ok with that. I can’t remember , mayb e Donald can , that I ever left him somewhere out of country without family for a holiday.

  2. Jen Pace

    he could come home with me if he wanted but he chose not to.

  3. Pingback: Cooking Class, Bird Flying Tea Shop, & KBL Game | 맙소사!

Leave a Reply

