Christmas is Coming

December has been a great month so far. I am really in the Christmas spirit; it truly is the most wonderful time of the year. It started with decorating our apartment. First I just got a very tiny tree, a snowman, and two stockings. It was pretty pathetic. But then I saw an awesome pink tree and had to have it! So now we have two Christmas trees! Much better. 🙂

Our December birthday party was last week and my favorite students sang my favorite Christmas song! Check out the video here.

Saturday we finished up our Christmas shopping in Insadong. It was fun to find the perfect Korean present for everyone on my list. Also while shopping I got a phone call and learned that my Korean BFF got engaged! I was already in on the secret since I helped her fiancé figure out her ring size… Congrats to John and Ohee!

Saturday night we went to Santacon. It was epic, with hundreds of people dressed as Santa. The first bar was fun but I must admit that after I trekked for almost an hour in freezing temperatures to the next bar, I was no longer feelin’ it. I went home early while the other Santas partied all night long.

Yesterday we made our annual photo Christmas card, which involved putting Bella in a Santa suit. She looks so freakin’ cute. And yes, we have decided to keep her.

I am so happy to be going home in less than two weeks (if I was staying here I might not be in such a festive mood)! I have been trying to figure out how to entertain myself during my my nine-hour Christmas Eve layover at LAX but I am thinking an In-n-Out Burger run, a movie, and some duty-free Christmas shopping will do the trick.

Non-Christmas-related happenings:

I’ve seen two movies so far this month… I really liked The Tourist (although my coworker disagreed and said it was cheesy!) and The Switch was just okay, but if you live in Korea with limited options I would recommend them. There are three must-see movies for me when I go home since I don’t think any of these will come here: True Grit, 127 Hours, and Black Swan (see I don’t usually like such crappy films as the ones I’ve been watching lately!).

We went to a National Geographic photo exhibit at the Hangaram Art Museum last weekend. The photos were beautiful of course but it was so crowded! Also the info was in Korean so I didn’t even know where the photos were taken, which was a disappointment.

After the museum Daniel had his wisdom teeth taken out. He was so nervous, it was pretty cute. 🙂 The dental assistant had to come out to the waiting room to get me because Daniel wanted me back there with him. But he worried all for nothing; it was simple and he was fine pretty much the next day.

I made some delicious chili tonight. In case anyone who lives in Korea actually reads this, you can get all the ingredients at Home Plus: one can each of chili beans, black beans, diced tomatoes, and corn. Heat on the stove with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and taco seasoning. Top with shredded cheese and sour cream and eat with tortilla chips.

We also made homemade pizza last weekend… mmmmmmmmmm.

-Jen Pace

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Christmas is Coming

  1. Don

    Daniel always worries himself to insanity prior to a dental visit or a doctors visit, when there is a needle involved!

    That is one skinny assed cigar smoking santa you’re standing next too…

    Poor Daniel, all alone at Christmas while you enjoy your redneck home-coming.

    Merry Christmas!!

  2. Mary Baumgartner

    Hi Jen, That’s a yummie looking “pizza”? you’re holding. I’m looking forward to seeing you at Christmas. I loved those pix of you and Dan in Santa outfits. Have a safe trip home. Love, Grandma

  3. Karen

    oh my god… your students singing was the cutest thing ever

  4. Jen Pace

    lol thanks karen 🙂

  5. Beth Wilhour

    That video is adorable! I’m super impressed with your students too – I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have been able to sing that long of a song in another language at that age 🙂

  6. Jen Pace

    thanks beth… yeah they are so smart and we didn’t have much time to practice either (less than two weeks)!

Leave a Reply

