NANTA, Baking Party, & Kindergarten Graduation

Last Saturday Daniel’s school took all of their employees to see NANTA. A few of the teachers couldn’t make it so I also got to go for free! I was excited because this is something I have wanted to see and it normally costs 40,000-60,000 won (and I think we got the more expensive seats too). NANTA is a (mostly) non-verbal rhythm and comedy show with some audience participation thrown in. The plot revolves around three cooks who must prepare a wedding feast while teaching the boss’s nephew how to cook as well. It was highly entertaining and enjoyable, and I recommend it to anyone living in or visiting the Seoul area!
Note: Daniel took the second and third photos displayed here.

After the show we enjoyed dinner at Om Dristi in Myeongdong. I have been craving Indian food lately and the chicken tikka, garlic naan, and basmati rice did not disappoint.

On Sunday I had my first official baking party. A lot of people have wanted to bake with me lately so I decided to make it a monthly event. This time we made chocolate chip cookies and strawberry cupcakes with strawberry frosting. So yummy, and no fiascos! (Ohee and I also made the strawberry cupcakes on Tuesday and they were once again delicious.) Afterward Daniel, Philip, Jinhee, Caroline, and I played Cranium and the girls beat the boys! It was a fun evening.

Monday we attempted our first game of baduk, a Korean board game that Daniel gave me as a Christmas gift. It is really complicated! I also bought Monopoly today, so we need to have another board game party soon!

Yesterday was our kindergarten graduation and talent show. The students received their diplomas and awards and each class recited something (my classes told the stories of Jack and the Beanstalk and Hansel and Gretel) and sang a song. Then all four classes sang two songs together. I have to admit I did get a bit teary-eyed as I will truly miss three of my sweet girl students, and they will not be coming back for our elementary school classes. But good riddance to those four boys who make my life hell! Unfortunately, three of them will be returning. Sigh.

class photos were included with their diplomas

paul seemed pretty happy with his "spelling bee" award 🙂

intelligent class singing rihanna's "umbrella"

i got this letter along with a lollipop bouquet from my favorite student

I was selected to be a writer on “The Korea Blog” by The Korean Culture and Information Service (KOCIS) of the Korean Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism. I will receive invitations to cultural center events and if I am one of the five most active bloggers, I get a free ticket to visit home. Sweet! 🙂

We have been going to trivia every week, and still always second place. We even tied for first place last week and then lost the tiebreaker! Grrrrrrrrr…

Weird Korea Part 7:
Apparently vitamins are a common present for a teacher here. I thought it was a bit strange, but practical. Thanks Paul!

-Jen Pace

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “NANTA, Baking Party, & Kindergarten Graduation

  1. Mary Baumgartner

    Hi Jen, How interesting your “blogs” continue to be. I loved the sweet letter from your favorite student Elle (calling you her favorite teacher). I guess you will be staying on for another year? You’ve really had so many wonderful experiences there. My best to Dan. Love, Grandma

  2. cindy

    Congratulations on your new position, blogging. Isn’t Daniel blogging for someone too? Are they paid positions?

  3. Jen Pace

    yes grandma, we will be staying another year. we need more money and more time to travel asia!
    daniel never heard back from the people he was talking to about blogging. no, mine is not a paid position.

  4. Pingback: Exhaustion | 맙소사!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Update « Grown in Southern Ground

  6. Pingback: Beat the winter blues: Fun in Seoul when it’s cold! | 맙소사!

  7. Pingback: Throwback Thursday « Grown in Southern Ground

Leave a Reply

