Boryeong Mud Festival

This weekend we went to the Boryeong Mud Festival, along with thousands of other expats and a few Koreans. I wasn’t really looking forward to it because I thought it would be a little too frat party/spring break-y for me but it was pretty fun and the weather cooperated. We went with the travel group Seoulite and while everything worked out fine, they weren’t highly organized (shocker). At first we were rooming with three strangers but when one of the girls started bitching about no hot water in the shower they got their own room and the four of us got the original room (that did have hot water!) to ourselves. 🙂

After getting settled in our room we headed to the festivities. We had to buy wristbands for 5,000 won each to enter the main mud area (but they could be exchanged later for a free bar of mud soap). Daniel, Karen, and Trevor had fun wrestling in the mud pit and going through a mud obstacle course but I preferred to just be the designated photographer, and I ended up getting plenty of mud on me anyway! Karen and Trevor also took advantage of the colored mud booth.

The next day we went to the beach and then found a shady spot in the grass to relax (Daniel needed to sleep off his hangover) until our bus left that afternoon.

In other news:

Ohee’s 31st birthday was yesterday but we celebrated on Thursday with Lois: dinner at Suji’s and a delicious ice cream cake!

My mom had her wedding party/reception yesterday and I wish I had been there for it! Also happy 29th birthdays to Laura and Adrienne!

my mom and my new stepdad clay

Today we had our theme day at school and went to the Jeongja Water Playground. It was so much fun that I think I’m going to go there for my birthday and have a cook out in the park next to it. Today was the first day that was genuinely HOT (in the 90s) and not just humid so it was a perfect day for it.

Also today we booked our flight to Shanghai! It’s going to be more expensive than we hoped, mostly due to the outrageous visa fees we have to pay because we’re American. But it’s official! I will be booking the trip to Jeju Island tomorrow as well.

We’ve been messing around with dates for our “plan” over the next few years and I think we will be staying in NC for about four months next fall so I can catch up on grad school classes. It will be nice to have an extended visit home between Korea and Australia. 🙂

Sadly, a horrible tragedy occurred in my hometown of Saluda last week. A 16-month-old fell out of her dad’s work truck and was run over. Her dad is a firefighter with my brother and her mom went to elementary school in my brother’s class. I know the community is deeply saddened and I just can’t imagine what the family is going through. R.I.P.

Weird Korea Part 20: Most Korean adults (and some children) swim fully clothed. I know they are extremely afraid of the sun (as evidenced by the enormous sun visors and umbrellas present in the summer) and prefer their skin to be milky white (some even bleach it) but a bathing suit is much more comfortable!

-Jen Pace

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Boryeong Mud Festival

  1. Glad you had fun at the festival. I went last year when it rained pretty much the whole time. I even threw away my shorts because they were so soaked! The beach looks just like the one in Gwangalli I went to last Sunday. Everyone has those yellow donuts! I really want to swim in the water but must buy one of those cool snorkleing combos with goggles and fins..lol! .But I’ll probably buy normal googgles instead! Have a great time in Thailand!

Leave a Reply

